Welcome to the Sunrise Watershed Management Organization

Featured Program: Grants to Landowners for Water Quality Improvement Projects

More Information


The SRWMO is a joint powers special purpose unit of government composed of member communities of Linwood, East Bethel, Columbus and Ham Lake collaborating to manage water resources. This arrangement is based upon the recognition that water-related issues and management rarely stop at municipal boundaries. The SRWMO's boundaries are defined by the West Branch of the Sunrise River's watershed to the West and South Branch of the Sunrise's watershed to the south. To the north and east the boundaries are defined by the Anoka County boundary. It does not extend into other counties because watershed organizations are only required by law within twin cities metropolitan counties.

The SRWMO is involved in many aspects of water management including planning and regulation, water quality, flooding, shoreland management, recreation, wildlife, and erosion control. The WMO has a state-approved watershed management plan which outlines their policies and plan of work. Cities' and townships' local water management plans must be consistent with the WMO's plan. The SRWMO Board does not have employees. Instead, it works through cooperative efforts of the member cities and townships, or contracts with the Anoka Conservation District or other consultants.

Watershed Plan Update:

In spring 2018 the SRWMO began an update of its Watershed Management Plan. This plan is valid for 10-years. It sets priorities, measurable goals, a schedule of work, and expected expenditures. The expected completion of the new plan is December 2019. To learn more or provide input, please visit our Watershed Plan page.

As of May 3, 2019 a full draft of the 4th Generation SRWMO Watershed Management Plan is complete and undergoing a 60-day agency review. Comments from any interested party are accepted during this time. The draft plan and instructions for comment are posted on our Watershed Plan and Reports section of our website. For more information click here. The comment period will end approximately July 4, 2019 (official end date is determined by the MN Board of Soil and Water Resources).

This is the latest around the SRWMO